Ava Data
Summarize with AI

vs. DealMachine

DealMachine Alternative — Pay Per Match, Not Per Seat

DealMachine bills a monthly seat and bundles a data-credit allotment into it. Ava Data bills a match: 1 credit — 2¢ — for a matched phone, 2 credits for phone plus email, nothing for a record it cannot match, and no seat to buy. If your team is larger than your tracing volume, that is the difference that compounds every month.

TL;DR Verdict

  • The billing unit is a seat, not a record. DealMachine's published plans are Basic at $99 per seat per month with 10,000 data credits per seat, Pro at $149 per seat per month with 20,000, and Enterprise at $599 per month for a package of 100,000. Ava Data has no seat charge; credits sit on the account.
  • A quiet month costs a full month. A seat is billed whether it traces 20 records or 20,000, and an unused allotment does not roll into savings. Ava Data's floor is $9/month with 100 credits included, dashboard and API alike.
  • Ava Data does not replace the field workflow. There is no mobile app, no driving-for-dollars route tracking and no direct-mail engine here. If driving is how you source, DealMachine is doing something Ava Data was never built to do.
  • Both publish a developer API. DealMachine ships a documented REST API, a CLI, webhooks and an MCP server. This page is not an argument that they lack developer access.

What is Ava Data?

Ava Data is a skip-tracing API and data-intelligence platform built for real-estate investors, wholesalers, agents and developers. Every account includes the web dashboard, List Builder for quick-list property pulls, List Stacking, bulk CSV processing, Digital Matching for ad-platform audience files, and the public REST API, enabled per account.

Pricing is per match: 1 credit ($0.02) for a phone-only Standard Search, 2 credits ($0.04) for phone plus email, and 10 credits ($0.20) for a Deep Search that adds the related-persons graph. A List Builder pull costs 1 credit per record and Digital Matching costs 2 credits per matched contact. Credits are charged per component and only on a match, they belong to the account rather than to a user, and the $9/month plan includes 100 of them. The identity graph behind the results refreshes every 24 hours.

What is DealMachine?

DealMachine is a lead-generation platform built around driving for dollars. Its mobile app lets an investor or a team drive a neighbourhood, tag distressed-looking properties from the street, pull owner information on the spot, and trigger direct mail or a call from the same screen — with route tracking so a territory gets covered rather than circled. It has since grown a full property-data layer, a CRM, and developer access through a documented REST API, a CLI, webhooks and an MCP server for AI assistants. DealMachine's own site describes coverage of more than 150 million properties and 240 million people records.

As published on dealmachine.com in September 2026, the plans are seat-based with a monthly data-credit allotment attached to each seat: Basic at $99 per seat per month with 10,000 data credits per seat, Pro at $149 per seat per month with 20,000, and Enterprise at $599 per month for a package including 100,000 credits. Contact data is drawn from that allotment rather than billed per record, and DealMachine markets that bundling as a headline feature. Annual billing is offered at a discount.

DealMachine's published pages returned annual prices under two different plan-name generations, so no annual figure is quoted here. Check its pricing page before budgeting, and confirm what a data credit is consumed by in your workflow — that detail decides whether an allotment is generous or notional, and it is not something this page will guess at.

How Ava Data Knows the Numbers Are Good

There's a harder question than price: how do you know the numbers are good? Most skip tracing services never find out what happens after they hand you a phone number. Ava Data does — through partnerships with high-volume dialing networks placing over 100 million calls a month, Ava Data sees real connect signals and tests its data head-to-head against major data vendors. Every outcome gets scored: right-person connects, numbers that don't connect, wrong numbers. Those signals feed a custom ranking layer that orders every contact's phone numbers by real-world connect performance — so the number most likely to answer is first on your list.

These are aggregate network connect signals — no customer lists or uploaded records are ever shared, sold, or used.

Side-by-Side Comparison

FeatureAva DataDealMachine
Billing unitPer matched component — 2¢ phone, 4¢ phone + emailPer seat per month, with a bundled credit allotment
Cost of a second team memberNo per-seat charge; credits sit on the accountA second seat at the plan's per-seat rate
Monthly floor to get contact data$9/month plan (100 credits included), dashboard and API$99 per seat per month on the published entry plan
Charge when a lookup returns nothingNone — you pay only on a matchNot specified on published pages
Driving for dollars app with route tracking✗ Not offered✓ The core of the product
Direct mail sending✗ Not offered✓ Built in
Built-in CRM✗ Not offered — see Follow Up Boss enrichment✓ Built in
Deep Search / related-persons graph✓ 20¢ per matchNot specified on published pages
Line type on every phone✓ On every resultNot specified
Identity graph refresh✓ Every 24 hoursNot specified
List building by quick-list filter✓ 17 quick-lists, see /lists/✓ Property search and lists
List stacking across sourcesList Stacking with a minimum-appearance thresholdNot specified
Ad-platform audience filesDigital Matching, 4¢ per matched contactNot specified on published pages
Public REST API✓ Same account and credit balance as the dashboard✓ REST API, CLI, webhooks and an MCP server

The Fine-Print Math: A Three-Person Team That Traces 2,000 Records

Take a wholesaling team of three working the same market, pulling and tracing about 2,000 owner records in a month between them. Using each provider's own published rates:

  • DealMachine Basic: three seats at $99 per seat per month is $297 in that month, before anything about the 2,000 records is considered. The credit allotment is generous against that volume; the seats are the bill.
  • Ava Data: 2,000 matched phones at 2¢ is $40 at the very most, less every record that returns no match, on one account the whole team works from. Adding email to all 2,000 takes the ceiling to $80.

Reverse the shape and the answer reverses with it. A single operator tracing 10,000 records a month is buying one $99 seat against an allotment that covers the volume, and Ava Data's ceiling on the same work is $200 in matched phones. That is a real case where DealMachine's bundling wins on raw arithmetic, and it is worth saying so.

The durable rule underneath both examples: seat pricing scales with headcount and per-match pricing scales with results. Teams whose people outnumber their monthly traces pay for capacity; teams whose traces outnumber their people pay for data. Neither model is dishonest — they are priced for different shapes of business, and the skip-tracing cost guide works the same comparison across the rest of the market.

Why is every DealMachine alternative another monthly platform?

Because the listicles are written by platforms. Search "DealMachine alternatives" and the results are all-in-one products — a CRM with a dialer, a distress-signal platform, a direct-mail suite — each of which swaps one monthly subscription for another monthly subscription and asks you to move your pipeline into it.

Ava Data is not that, and it is the honest reason to consider it separately. It is the data layer: List Builder for the pull, List Stacking to find the owners appearing on more than one distress list, skip tracing for the numbers, and Digital Matching to turn the same file into an ad-platform audience. It attaches to the CRM and the dialer you already run rather than replacing them, and Follow Up Boss enrichment is trigger-based so records fill in as they arrive. Follow Up Boss is currently the only live CRM integration; others are in development.

When DealMachine Is the Right Choice

DealMachine is the right choice when driving is how you source. The app, the route tracking, the tag-a-house-from-the-street workflow and the mail that goes out from the same screen are a coherent field product, and Ava Data offers none of it. The same holds if you want one login for the CRM, the mail and the data, and you would rather pay a predictable seat price than watch a usage meter.

Ava Data is the better fit when the lists come from somewhere else — your own county pulls, a title rep, List Builder, a prior export — and the bottleneck is turning a name and an address into a number that answers. It also fits teams whose headcount has grown faster than their tracing volume, and developers who want the data behind their own tooling at published per-match rates.

Running both is common and costs nothing extra to try, because per-match pricing does not require cancelling anything first.

Common Objections, Answered Honestly

"My DealMachine plan already includes the contact data, so it's free."

It is included, which is not the same as free — it is prepaid inside the seat. The question worth asking is what the seat costs divided by the records you actually traced last month. If that number is well under 2¢ you are getting good value from the bundle and should keep it. If it is 20¢ or 40¢, you are paying for capacity, and the fix is not necessarily switching platforms: it may just be sourcing the contact data separately.

"We drive for dollars. Ava Data can't do that."

Correct, and this page says so above rather than working around it. There is no mobile app and no route tracking here. Teams that drive and also work records-sourced lists often keep DealMachine for the field workflow and use Ava Data for the list side, since the second product is a $9/month plan rather than a second seat.

"Switching means rebuilding my lists and my CRM."

Not for the data layer. Ava Data takes a CSV: export the list you already have, upload it to Bulk Skip Tracing at up to 250,000 records per file, and the enriched file comes back with your original columns plus appended contact data, up to 35 export columns. Your CRM stays where it is. If it is Follow Up Boss, enrichment can run automatically on a trigger instead of through an export at all.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does DealMachine cost per month?

DealMachine's published plans in September 2026 are seat-based: Basic at $99 per seat per month with 10,000 data credits per seat, Pro at $149 per seat per month with 20,000 credits per seat, and Enterprise at $599 per month for a package including 100,000 credits. Annual billing is offered at a discount. Check DealMachine's own pricing page before budgeting, since published plans change.

Is Ava Data cheaper than DealMachine?

It depends on whether you are paying for people or for records. A three-person team on DealMachine's entry plan is $297 a month in seats before any tracing; the same team tracing 2,000 records through Ava Data pays $40 at the very most, on one shared account. A single operator tracing 10,000 records a month is the reverse case, where one $99 seat with a bundled allotment beats a $200 ceiling in matched phones. Divide your current subscription by the records you traced last month to see which side you are on.

Does Ava Data have a driving for dollars app?

No. Ava Data has no mobile app, no route tracking and no direct-mail sending. It builds owner lists from public-record attributes through List Builder, stacks them, finds current contact information for the owners, and hands the result to the CRM, dialer or ad platform you already use.

Can I use Ava Data alongside DealMachine instead of replacing it?

Yes, and it is a common pattern. Keep DealMachine for the field workflow and the CRM, export the lists you build elsewhere as CSV, and run them through Bulk Skip Tracing or the REST API at 2¢ per matched phone. On the Ava Data side the only fixed cost is the $9/month plan, and there is no seat to add.

Does Ava Data charge per user?

No. Credits belong to the account rather than to a seat, so adding a team member does not add a monthly line item. The $9/month plan includes 100 credits and covers API use; API access is enabled per account on that same plan.

Pay for matches, not seats

No per-user charge. One $9/month plan with 100 credits included covers the dashboard and the API.

Get Started →

Competitor pricing and features are based on information publicly listed on each provider's website as of September 7, 2026, and may have changed. Verify current details with each provider.